Skip to Main Content

Research Process: A Step-by-Step Guide: 2b. Find Articles

This guide will help you understand the research process that you need to go through for your assignments.

Magazines

The Waikerie High School library currently subscribes to 20 print magazine and 3 newspaper titles.
Issues are located in  the magazine area and are all available for loan.
Back issues may also be checked out.
Generally, the library keeps a current issue plus one year.
 

Choosing a Database

Waikerie High School has access to Worldbook Online.  

See library staff for log on details.

You can also access a number of data bases from the Waikerie Public Library by booking an Internet session with them.

Some of the data bases you can access from there include -

My Health and Wellbeing 

 

 Ancestory Online 

 

lynda.com 

 

IELTS 

 

​ Zinio - digital magazines 

You can also find and get Australian and online resources through Trove - 
books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more are available through this data base. 

 

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

  • Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
  • Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
  • Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.